Autistic People ARE Speaking, You Just Have To Listen

I received a message to my Facebook Page yesterday at The Bullshit Fairy and it’s one that I hear all to often.

I’m sure, well meaning people believe that the reason (or a significant reason) why we are discriminated against, is because we aren’t speaking out/loud enough.

That comment in itself is victim blaming. We didn’t shout loud enough so it’s our fault? Think about that for a moment in other scenarios.

I’m guessing that most people who say this statement, didn’t intend for their message to have this meaning, but that’s exactly what it is.

But back to what to  I want to focus my attention on – Autistic bloggers/writers.

I made a meme thingy, to have a joke about it, because I need a laugh, but like with all humour, there is a whole lot of truth to it.

A huge Thank You to Cas from Un-Boxed Brain for their help in compiling this list and for having a laugh with me about a very frustrating situation.

We *are* speaking. You just have to listen.

❤ The Bullshit Fairy

 

Image below is a picture that is meant to represent a Facebook Message Conversation. The first person, usually a followers writes in black text on the left side over a pale blue square:

“Approximately every third messagereceived at FB / The Autistic Bullshit Fairy:
I think that part of the problem is that autistics speaking out is quite rare.
There needs to be more autistic people writing blogs and telling their story.”

On the other side is a long pale grey rectangle with my reply:

“Hi! Thanks for your message. I’ve compiled a quick list of blogs written by autistic people. There are many more.” and I provided a list of 40 autistic bloggers added below:

Print

Acting NT  http://actingnt.blogspot.com.au

A is for Autiste  http://aisforautiste.blogspot.com.au

Autisticook  https://autisticook.wordpress.com

Autistic Academic  http://autisticacademic.com

Autistic Hoya  http://www.autistichoya.com

Autistic in Southwest Virginia  https://autisticinswva.wordpress.com

Autistic Vegan  http://autisticvegan.blogspot.com.au

Briannon Lee  http://briannonlee.com

Chavisory Notebook  https://chavisory.wordpress.com

Emma Pretzel  https://emmapretzel.wordpress.com

Felis Autisticus  https://felisautisticus.wordpress.com

Field Notes on Allistics  http://fieldnotesonallistics.tumblr.com

Full Metal Heart  http://fullmetalheart.com

Giraffe Party  http://imapartygiraffe.com

It’s Bridget’s Word  http://itsbridgetsword.com

Judy Ednow  http://www.judyendow.com

Just Stimming  https://juststimming.wordpress.com

Leia Solo http://leiasolo.com

Michelle Sutton Writes http://michellesuttonwrites.com

Musings of a Wandering Autistic https://wanderingautistic.wordpress.com

Neurocosmopolitanism http://neurocosmopolitanism.com

Neurodiversity in Russia http://neurodiversityinrussia.com   (Russian?)

Neurodivergencia Latina  https://neurolatino.wordpress.com  (Spanish)

Neurowonderful http://neurowonderful.tumblr.com

Ollibean http://ollibean.com

Parenting Autistic Children with Love and Acceptance https://autloveaccept.wordpress.com

Radical Neurodivergence Speaking http://timetolisten.blogspot.com.au

Respectfully Connected http://respectfullyconnected.com

Shaping Clay http://www.mmonjejr.com

Suburban Autistics  http://suburbanautistics.blogspot.com.au

The Bullshit Fairy  http://thebullshitfairy.com.au

The Caffeinated Autistic https://thecaffeinatedautistic.wordpress.com

The E is for Erin http://eisforerin.com

Tiny Grace Notes (Ask an Autistic) http://tinygracenotes.blogspot.com.au

Un-Boxed Brain http://un-boxedbrain.com.au

Unstrange Mind https://unstrangemind.wordpress.com

We Always Liked Picasso Anyway http://autistictimestwo.blogspot.com.au

We Are Like Your Child http://wearelikeyourchild.blogspot.com.au

Who Needs Normalcy http://whoneedsnormalcy.blogspot.com.au

Yes That Too http://yesthattoo.blogspot.com.au

 

 

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Autistic People ARE Speaking, You Just Have To Listen

  1. … and that’s still an incredibly small list compared to the actual total number of Autistic bloggers out there, let alone Autistic people who are “speaking out” by other means too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s