Autistic People ARE Speaking, You Just Have To Listen

I received a message to my Facebook Page yesterday at The Bullshit Fairy and it’s one that I hear all to often.

I’m sure, well meaning people believe that the reason (or a significant reason) why we are discriminated against, is because we aren’t speaking out/loud enough.

That comment in itself is victim blaming. We didn’t shout loud enough so it’s our fault? Think about that for a moment in other scenarios.

I’m guessing that most people who say this statement, didn’t intend for their message to have this meaning, but that’s exactly what it is.

But back to what to  I want to focus my attention on – Autistic bloggers/writers.

I made a meme thingy, to have a joke about it, because I need a laugh, but like with all humour, there is a whole lot of truth to it.

A huge Thank You to Cas from Un-Boxed Brain for their help in compiling this list and for having a laugh with me about a very frustrating situation.

We *are* speaking. You just have to listen.

❤ The Bullshit Fairy

 

Image below is a picture that is meant to represent a Facebook Message Conversation. The first person, usually a followers writes in black text on the left side over a pale blue square:

“Approximately every third messagereceived at FB / The Autistic Bullshit Fairy:
I think that part of the problem is that autistics speaking out is quite rare.
There needs to be more autistic people writing blogs and telling their story.”

On the other side is a long pale grey rectangle with my reply:

“Hi! Thanks for your message. I’ve compiled a quick list of blogs written by autistic people. There are many more.” and I provided a list of 40 autistic bloggers added below:

Print

**List updated September, 2017**

A new, more comprehensive list coming soon – but with sensitivity and focus on privacy – only easily found public links and brief description of each person/organisation will be added – and definitely no private/personal details.

If you prefer to not be included either list, please let me know.

Acting NT  www.actingnt.blogspot.com.au

A is for Autiste  www.aisforautiste.blogspot.com.au

Autisticook  www.autisticook.wordpress.com

Autistic Academic  www.neurodiversitymatters.com/autisticacademic

Autistic Hoya  www.autistichoya.com

Autistic in Southwest Virginia  www.autisticinswva.wordpress.com  (inactive)

Autistic Vegan  www.autisticvegan.blogspot.com.au

Briannon Lee  www.briannonlee.com

The Bullshit Fairy  www.thebullshitfairy.com.au

The Caffeinated Autistic www.thecaffeinatedautistic.wordpress.com

Chavisory Notebook  www.chavisory.wordpress.com

Cyborg Workshop www.neurodiversitymatters.com/cyborgworkshop

Emma Pretzel  www.emmapretzel.wordpress.com

Erin Human www.erinhuman.com

Felis Autisticus  www.felisautisticus.wordpress.com

Field Notes on Allistics  www.fieldnotesonallistics.com

Full Metal Heart  www.fullmetalheart.com

Giraffe Party  www.imapartygiraffe.com

It’s Bridget’s Word  www.itsbridgetsword.com

Judy Ednow  www.judyendow.com

Just Stimming  www.juststimming.wordpress.com

Leia Solo www.leiasolo.com

Michelle Sutton Writes www.michellesuttonwrites.com

Musings of a Wandering Autistic www.wanderingautistic.wordpress.com

Neurocosmopolitanism www.neurocosmopolitanism.com

Neurodiversity in Russia www.neurodiversityinrussia.com   (Russian?)

Neurodivergencia Latina  www.neurolatino.wordpress.com  (Spanish)

Neurowonderful www.neurowonderful.tumblr.com

Ollibean www.ollibean.com

Parenting Autistic Children with Love and Acceptance www.autloveaccept.wordpress.com

Radical Neurodivergence Speaking www.timetolisten.blogspot.com.au

Respectfully Connected www.respectfullyconnected.com

Suburban Autistics  www.suburbanautistics.blogspot.com.au

The Teselecta Multiverse www.neurodiversitymatters.com/teselecta

Tiny Grace Notes (Ask an Autistic) www.tinygracenotes.blogspot.com.au

Un-Boxed Brain www.un-boxedbrain.com

Unstrange Mind www.unstrangemind.com

We Always Liked Picasso Anyway www.autistictimestwo.blogspot.com.au

We Are Like Your Child www.wearelikeyourchild.blogspot.com.au

Who Needs Normalcy www.whoneedsnormalcy.blogspot.com.au

Yes That Too www.yesthattoo.blogspot.com.au

 

 

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Autistic People ARE Speaking, You Just Have To Listen

  1. … and that’s still an incredibly small list compared to the actual total number of Autistic bloggers out there, let alone Autistic people who are “speaking out” by other means too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s